The High Five

I was at the gym this morning, thinking about New Year’s resolutions.   My goal when I joined 24 Hour Fitness in February 2011 was to lose 50 pounds by the end of this year.   I have passed that goal, and am closer to being down 60 pounds.

I plan to lose 50 more in 2012.   That will put me really close to where I want to be, but not quite.  By the end of 2013, I will be at my “fighting weight”, and will be feeling great!

As I was pondering my goals for 2012, I felt inspired to come up with my “High Five” goals.

1.  Daily prayer.   First thing when I roll out of bed in the morning, and last thing before my head hits the pillow.   Alone in the AM and PM, and at night with my wife, as well.

2.  Daily scripture study.  Whether it is 30 minutes of straight reading, searching by a topic that is on my mind, or simply a 5 minute quick read before lights out, etc, I simply want to make sure that a day does not go by when I miss reading the scriptures.   God has so many messages for us, and all we have to do is open up the scriptures and there is some message He wants us to have for that day.

3.  Exercise.   Some form of exercise for at least 30 minutes every day.   I will continue to go to the gym 4 – 5 times a week, hit golf balls at the driving range at least once a week, and walk my dog every night.   Gotta keep the blood flowing, and keep dropping the pounds.

4.  Water.   I will drink at least 8 8 ounce glasses of water every day.   When I am drinking water, I feel better.   When I am drinking water, my body functions better.

5.   Healthy eating.   If I get up every morning and head to the gym, I am inspired to eat better throughout the day.   It doesn’t mean I will completely avoid that burger from The Habit, or a slice of pizza every now and then.   I just won’t mess up my diet all day any day.   Every now and then I will allow myself to “cheat” a little, but I will rebound on my next meal.

As I follow my Daily High Five, I will see more and more of the next 50 pounds drop, and I will continue to be more successful in my personal and professional lives.

What are your resolutions for 2012?  Care to join me?

Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

Ed

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

