What is Your Winning Percentage?

Ed HS Baseball

2013.

Two weeks down.

Most of us set goals, or “resolutions”, and I am guessing some of us have already reverted to our old ways.

I decided to avoid resolutions (new things, new programs, etc) and simply look at a few things that I have done throughout my life (gym, food, prayer, scripture study, etc) and simply strive to do each of them a little bit better this year. No new stuff, no new gym memberships, diet programs, etc. I am just focusing on doing everything a little bit better, and then taking inventory before I go to bed each night on how I did. A sports team is measured on one thing, their winning percentage. Since I have a strong sports background and passion, I have decided to measure my days the same way.

As I settle in for the evening, and ponder my day, I ask myself, “Did I win today, or did I lose?” My win/loss decision is based on whether or not I made good decisions, made progress in key areas of my life (spiritual, financial, physical, emotional, mental, personal, professional, etc). I don’t have to be perfect in each area, but I have to have made good decisions, or made progress, in each area each day.

I also am focusing my attention on truly living one day at a time. If I blow it today, there is always tomorrow. If I had a great day today, I celebrate, call it a “win”, go to sleep, wipe the slate clean the next day, and start over.

When I worked in professional baseball, I learned that success or failure one day has no impact on the next day. We could score 15 runs on Friday night, and then struggle to even get a hit the next day. Whatever success, or failure, from the previous day simply did not carry over to the next. We played close to 80 games over the course of about 90 days, so it was imperative that we not get too high or too low based on yesterday’s results.

The same holds true in our own lives. Sure, we can let the momentum from yesterday carry us into today, but we still need to work, put forth effort, and make good decisions today, otherwise we will set ourselves up to suffer a disappointing day. We need to learn from yesterday’s experiences, and apply them to today, but we cannot assume that our effort yesterday will carry over and create the win today. Yesterday’s preparation, combined with today’s effort, produces our results.

If you look back on your day tonight when you go to bed, and you don’t like the results, the answer is simple. Tomorrow, make different decisions. You will be surprised at how easy it is to change your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is Your Winning Percentage?

  1. The sun’ll come out
    Tomorrow
    So ya gotta hang on
    ‘Til tomorrow
    Come what may
    Tomorrow!
    Tomorrow!
    I love ya
    Tomorrow!
    You’re always
    A day
    A way!

  2. JAYNE KENNEDY says:

    Great! Thank you- just what I needed tonight.

    On Tuesday, January 15, 2013, …from the Hart… wrote: > ejhart posted: ” 2013. Two weeks down. Most of us set goals, or resolutions, and I am guessing some of us have already reverted to our old ways. I decided to avoid resolutions (new things, new programs, etc) and simply look at a few things that I have” >

Leave a Reply

